New Interim Chair Appointed to HKPR Board of Health

The Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge, District Health Unit (HKPR District Health Unit) has appointed David Marshall as the Interim Chairperson to the HKPR District Health Unit’s Board of Health effective immediately.

Doug Elmslie is a municipal representative for the City of Kawartha Lakes and a long time member of the Board of Health and Chairperson since September 2019. With the upcoming municipal elections in October, Board of Health members who are also elected municipal officials will see their term on the Board of Health cease after November 10, 2022.

The Board of Health felt it was necessary to appoint a new Chairperson to ensure good governance post-election. Mr. Marshall was originally appointed to the Board of Health for the HKPR District Health Unit in 2021 by the Lieutenant Governor through a recommendation by the Minister of Health when he applied to the Public Appointments Secretariat.

As a Provincial Appointee, Mr. Marshall is not impacted by municipal elections; therefore, he will remain a Board member.

“I want to thank Mr. Marshall for taking on this new role as interim Chairperson. I am confident his expertise and experience will continue to be an asset in carrying out the important work of the Board of Health,” said Dr. Natalie Bocking, Medical Officer of Health, and Chief Executive Officer for the HKPR District Health Unit. The HKPR District Health Unit’s Board of Health term will come to an end after the November 10, 2022, meeting. New
Board of Health members will not be appointed until mid-December and the new Board of Health will not officially meet until January 19, 2023.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: